The problem with NO EXPECTATIONS


You can’t lead your entire life with the motto ”No expectations!” If you don’t expect anything then you may be at a danger by going near a snake since you are not expecting it to attack you. The key is to be aware of your nature and of everything that surrounds you. Without any expectation you may miss the ‘anticipation’ part.  While one must enjoy the presence of good things surrounding them., some of the things are bad by nature and  there is a need to  avoid those things.

Here’s an old fable that I came across:

 
A scorpion and a frog meet on the bank of a stream and the
scorpion asks the frog to carry him across on its back. The
frog asks, “How do I know you won’t sting me?” The scorpion
says, “Because if I do, I will die too.”

scorpion

The frog is satisfied, and they set out, but in midstream,
the scorpion stings the frog. The frog feels the onset of
paralysis and starts to sink, knowing they both will drown,
but has just enough time to gasp “Why?”
Replies the scorpion: “Its my nature…”

25 thoughts on “The problem with NO EXPECTATIONS”

  1. Thanks so much for the recent likes of some of my blog posts, and for the blog follow. It led me to your interesting blog, which I am now following.

    I look forward to reading more of your posts.

    Happy blogging!

    Nancy

  2. Exactly! When a person lives with no expectations, nothing usually happens 🙂
    And the best thing is not to expect, but act – and then expect the best outcome! 😉
    Great post!

  3. I am aware of this fable, as I’m a Scorpio sign. Thank you for reminding me. In the last year, I have worked towards living with no expectations (accept for goals I set for myself), as I’ve been disappointed, almost to the point of paralyzation, like your frog, in the past. However, there is a balanced approach, which is far better and helps protect us. I’m glad you found me … You are my reminder. Thanks for following my blog. I look forward to following you on your journey too.

    1. I agree, a life completely without expectations or full of expectations is always gonna hurt, so a balanced approach is the best way to deal with our expectations! Glad to see you on my blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

